Nicoletta: Summer in Florence

Nicoletta Lanese

Nicoletta Lanese

Nicoletta Lanese is a University of Florida student studying abroad this summer in Italy. If you want to learn more about her program, click here: UF in Florence – Language, Art, and Culture

What is your year and field of study?
I am a BFA Dance Major planning to dual in Behavioral and Cognitive Neuroscience. I’ve just completed my freshman year at UF.

Have you traveled abroad before? If so, where and for what purpose?
I’ve travelled outside the country a few times to vacation. I’ve been to England, Belize, Mexico, Guatemala, Honduras, and various islands in the Caribbean.

Have you studied abroad before? If so, where and what did you study?
This will be my first time studying abroad.

Where are you studying abroad and why did you choose to study there?
I’m incredibly excited about studying abroad in Florence for a multitude of reasons. I’m half Italian and have wanted to visit Italy, essentially, since I was born. I’ve wanted to learn to speak Italian for the same amount of time and will be doing so during my program. (I’m also taking Psychology of Intercultural Diversity, which I am very interested in and will count toward my second major.) Besides this, I am a huge lover of art, food, and architecture, all of which Florence boasts incomparable examples of.

What are you most looking forward to during your study abroad program?
Whenever I travel, I get most excited about immersing myself in the culture of a new place. I enjoy the challenge and discovery of trying to live like a local.

What are some of your interests and hobbies?
Perhaps my biggest passion is dance, as might be indicated by my major. Of course, I’m also interested in neuroscience and, really, science in general. I am very interested in art and art history. I always enjoy a night out at the theatre, whether it be to see a musical, straight play, or reading. I love to eat, to cook, and to stumble upon new culinary experiences. I also enjoy reading, writing, and drawing.

Leave a Reply

