Erin: Summer in Christchurch

Erin Magliozzi

Erin Magliozzi

Erin Magliozzi is a University of Florida student studying abroad this summer in New Zealand. If you want to learn more about her program, click here: UF in New Zealand – Biodiversity and Conservation

What is your year and field of study?
I am a third-year Applied Biology Major with a planned minor in Anthropology.

Have you traveled abroad before? If so, where and for what purpose?
I have traveled to England, Ireland, and Wales on an Education First tour during the spring of 2008.

Have you studied abroad before? If so, where and what did you study?
I have not studied abroad before, which is why my trip to New Zealand this summer is extra exciting for me!

Where are you studying abroad and why did you choose to study there?
I will be studying abroad in New Zealand this summer through UF’s Biodiversity and Conservation program. This trip seemed like a perfect fit for me. Not only does the curriculum cover my favorite fields of biology, but the setting for the program could not be more perfect. New Zealand has always been at the top of my travel bucket list. It combines the natural beauty and adventurous atmosphere that I value in new places. As a passionate explorer, nature-lover, and nerd, the ability to experience New Zealand by learning about it in the context of the program is a complete dream come true.

What are you most looking forward to during your study abroad program?
I am most looking forward to being outside, seeing new and beautiful things, and learning hands-on. I am a true believer in engaged and active learning, and with our “excursion-a-day” itinerary, I know that each day will be memorable, wonderful, and full of opportunities to learn.

What are some of your interests and hobbies?
I love dancing, writing, reading, singing/listening to/playing music, being outside, and going on adventures. I love learning cool facts, binge-watching TV shows on Netflix, persuading my friends to watch Breaking Bad, teaching people how to recycle, gardening (even though I do NOT have a green thumb), and being inspired. Special skills include getting lost, quoting The Incredibles, and coming up with ridiculous nicknames for my dog and family members. I have loved every science class I’ve ever taken, and I can’t wait to learn more in New Zealand.

2 thoughts on “Erin: Summer in Christchurch

  1. Pingback: Abigail: Semester at Sea | Annus Mirabilis

  2. Reblogged this on Et Cetera. and commented:
    Here’s my introductory blog post on the UFIC Blog from Abroad page! I will be embarking on a study abroad trip to New Zealand this summer and I am SO EXCITED to share my adventures with all of you. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

