Anjali: Summer in San Jose

Anjali Kuthoore

Anjali Kuthoore

Anjali Kuthoore is a University of Florida student studying abroad this summer in Costa Rica. If you want to learn more about her program, click here: UF in Costa Rica – Medical Service Learning

What is your year and field of study?
On May 2nd, I will officially be done with my Junior year. I am a neuroscience major and Spanish minor. Within the field of neuroscience, I am particularly interested in the neurobiology of addiction, and I plan on going to grad school to continue studying that.

Have you traveled abroad before? If so, where and for what purpose?             Family reunions in France and Luxembourg
My dad’s side of the family lives in India
Family vacations in Africa (Tanzania and Egypt), Europe (Italy) and Asia (Singapore)
School trip to Spain for about two weeks. We traveled from the south, Malaga, to Madrid during that time.
I lived in Dubai (United Arab Emirates) from age 2-6 for my dad’s work.

Have you studied abroad before? If so, where and what did you study?
No I have not!

Where are you studying abroad and why did you choose to study there?
I am studying abroad in Costa Rica. I chose to study in a Spanish speaking country because I am minoring in Spanish and believe that the only way I could become fluent in the language is by immersing myself in a place where I have to speak it. I chose Costa Rica because it has a medical service-learning program and learning medical terminology in Spanish is something I am very interested in.

What are you most looking forward to during your study abroad program?
Improving my Spanish. I really want to become fluent! I am excited to meet new people, explore new cultures and see the magnificent terrain.

What are some of your interests and hobbies?
MUSIC and nature: I love listening to music, finding new music and sharing music. I love music festivals, being outdoors and taking care of Mother Nature. I like hammocking, hiking, the Farmer’s Market and just walking around. The sedentary lifestyle that is inflicted by school and studying is not quite how I prefer to spend my time but… (:

I love socializing. Going out with my friends is very important to me, and I really love meeting new people. I like conversations outside of just small talk. I feel very refreshed when I have a conversation with someone about life, controversial topics, whatever. I like getting to really know people.

I like trying new things and learning. And of course, I like working out, and spending (arguably wasting) time on social media and watching shows and occasionally movies on Netflix.

Leave a Reply

