Alexis: Summer in Florence

Alexis Herbeck

Alexis Herbeck

Alexis Herbeck is a University of Florida student studying abroad this summer in Italy. If you want to learn more about her program, click here: UF in Florence – Language, Art, and Culture

What is your year and field of study?
I just finished my sophomore year. I am a Psychology major who is in the process of picking up a Theater minor.

Have you traveled abroad before? If so, where and for what purpose?
I’ve been to Cancún, México. My family used to travel there for a week every year to spend time with my grandmother, who lives there two months every year. We went every year for about seven years. Hearing TV ads in Spanish fills me with a kind of sad nostalgia. I miss it very much.

Have you studied abroad before? If so, where and what did you study?
I have never studied abroad before.

Where are you studying abroad and why did you choose to study there?
I am studying in Florence, Italy. I picked this place for many reasons. One of the big reasons I chose Italy is that my mother’s side of the family is from Italy, and I’ve heard a lot about it but have never had the chance to see it. I chose Florence because of the beautiful architecture. When I initially applied to UF, I wanted to study architecture and dreamed of going to Florence. Eventually, I figured out that architecture wasn’t for me, but I still had the desire to see Il Duomo di Firenze in person.

What are you most looking forward to during your study abroad program?
I want to explore every square inch of Florence on foot. I want to take a million pictures like the shameless tourist I am. I want to dive head first into it all.

What are some of your interests and hobbies?
I’m a writer and a voracious reader. Occasionally I do some drawing (though I’m not very good). I haven’t done much while I’ve been in college, but I am a huge theater nerd. I’m also an avid knitter and crocheter. If anyone wants a hat, let me know! I enjoy playing video games and baking and I’m obsessed with the television show Supernatural. I also do some low-key cosplay/makeup work.

3 thoughts on “Alexis: Summer in Florence

  1. What about your beautiful voice?! I would take another hat : ) Enjoy every minute of your journey, the beauty that is Florence, by all means eat, eat, and be happy -or rather mangia bene, vivi felice ! Love you, Aunt Dayna

  2. Wow Lexi, what a wonderful experience. Thanks for sharing your trip with us. Love you, Aunt Dayna
    P.S. Can I borrow your new jacket soon? Looks a little too warm for Florida don’t you think? Better suited to Colorado ; )

Leave a Reply

