A little introduction…

The decision to study abroad has been the most exciting, adventurous, and terrifying thing I’ve ever done.

I am by no means a risk-taker, adrenaline junkie or spontaneous person, but I hope to change this during the next five months of my life. My new motto while in Madrid: “Go for it!”

This past year in my life has been difficult to say the least. I’ve lost some very important people in my life, including my grandma who passed away in June. From her passing, I decided to terminate an internship I had over the summer to help my family care for her husband, my grandfather, who requires one hundred percent dependency of others due to his Alzheimer’s sickness.

Being the over-ambitious person that I am, I felt I needed to make-up for that lost internship and cancel my plans for studying abroad to complete a co-op with a company during the spring semester to gain experience. And then I came to a realization: life is just too short.

My grandma was such a lively spirit. I spent so much time learning from her example. She enjoyed her life. She traveled so much with my grandpa and experienced different countries and cultures with him. I think she would be proud to learn that I decided to take this plunge.

To say that I am going out of my comfort zone is an understatement. I am so far away from it, that it scares me (in a very good way, of course!).

I literally cannot wait to start this adventurous chapter in my life. I get this scary feeling in my gut that this trip will change my life. I don’t have the slightest idea what’s ahead of me, and I’m already loving it.

I hope you enjoy my adventures as much as me!

Leave a Reply

