Pinch me!

Fall in Barcelona!
Fall in Barcelona!
The sunset from my apartments balcony
The sunset from my apartments balcony

It’s hard to believe that I am already half way through the journey of a lifetime. Time is quite literally flying by. Mid terms week has passed and I can finally breathe again. It was quite a challenge finding balance in this new life I’m living.

It's been a long week!
Sangria and beer after a long day of studying on the weekend

 

Trying to find balance between being in a new city and wanting to spend every minute exploring and also wanting to spend every minute studying is usually an unlikely dilemma..I just love architecture!

A really interesting building in Barcelona, this city is surreal
A really interesting building in Barcelona, this city is surreal

I overheard someone talking about following their dreams and how they are just one step closer with each effort they make towards their goal. It is important to have goals and with determination and perseverance, almost anything is possible. I definitely believe this to be true, so I then thought to myself “Yeah Ally, you’re so close to getting everything you’ve ever dreamt of. Just keep working hard and you’re going to do big things.” That’s when I realized that up until this point in time, my goal, and very much my life dream, was to study architecture and travel the world doing so.

It was as if someone smacked me..

I am quite literally living my dream. This is it. It is now. It only took me two months to figure this out, but better late than never! I realize that I was so caught up in the experience of being in Europe that I almost forgot about how hard I worked to get here, and why I worked so hard.

Taking it easy with Miles, a fellow architecture student and a great friend
Taking it easy with my friend Miles and working on our projects
On the left is an a pavilion and the right is a schoolhouse/greenhouse. I love studio :)
On the left is an a pavilion and the right is a schoolhouse/greenhouse. I love studio 🙂

Until this moment it was hard to wrap my head around the fact that I made it here and that I was in fact successful! Now, I am proud of myself and am giving myself a big pat on the back, and then I’m moving on to the big picture. Architecture is my goal, my focus, and hopefully one day my future. My time in Barcelona is limited, however, so is my time in school. Soon, very soon, I will be a young professional and I won’t have the resources I have right now. I will visit Barcelona one day again! Absolutely!! That’s when I can make up for all of the things I may or not be missing out on by spending all of my focus on my studies. I look forward to the day I come back to Barcelona.

I just love this city..I never want to leave
I just love this city..I never want to leave

When you put a timer on things, the circumstances change. I realized that even though I have the rest of my life to live my life I have to realize that now is more important that the future because the decisions that I make right now will affect my future. Having all of these amazing resources at my fingertips is absolutely nothing to take advantage of. Dreams are beautiful, but I there is no more time for dreaming. Now it is time to do what I came here to do and to start making the difference I know I have the power to make. I’ve been given such an amazing opportunity, now what am I going to do with it?

Beautiful Barcelona
Beautiful Barcelona

What a good question 🙂

One thought on “Pinch me!

  1. I am studying in England, and I’ve had similar moments. Walking through the city, sometimes it feels like I am dreaming. I’ll be sad to leave it behind.

Leave a Reply

