I live in Europe..whoa.

Hola! Como te va? 🙂

Street are in Granada, Spain
Street are in Granada, Spain

Never in my life did I ever think I would live in Europe at this age. Granted, 4 months is a very short period of time, but still, it counts!!

I know it counts..because I live here and everyday I am reminded that this is a different country! I’m also reminded that I am definitely not a local. However, not being a local is not always a bad thing either. It has actually been quite fun exploiting my inner tourist! But the majority of the time I have really been trying to immerse myself in the culture and see where it can take me, I am learning so much! Not just about Spain and life in another country, but also about myself.

I’ve experienced my first few up & down days, and as easy as it would be to blame it on being homesick, I really think I’m just quite overwhelmed with everything this city has to offer. The last thing I want to do is go home, though! I just got here!!

This past weekend, I traveled to the south of Spain to Granada. I fell absolutely in love with this city. I really want to go back one day.

Me and Seamus hanging out in Granada :)
Me and Seamus hanging out in Granada 🙂
Walking through Granada, beautiful architecture around every corner!
Walking through Granada, beautiful architecture around every corner!
A really interesting street 'performer' ... look at the dog that doesn't move .. ever.
A really interesting street ‘performer’ … look at the dog that doesn’t move .. ever.
I really loved walking past this spice bazaar. I know my mom would have loved it as well! Mmm, smells so good!
I really loved walking past this spice bazaar. I know my mom would have loved it as well! Mmm, smells so good!

The city is much smaller than Barcelona and has a really large student population and culture, I really loved the small town feel. My program arranged for some local students to meet with us and show us around..it was wonderful! I met a wonderful local named Alodia, she was so so sweet. If I ever go back I will definitely meet with her!

My new friend, Alodia, & I at the amazing Caja Granada
My new friend, Alodia, & I at the amazing Caja Granada
This place was awesome!!!
This place was awesome!!!
Alodia showed the group this amazing seafood restaurant for lunch. Thank you again Alodia! ;)
Alodia showed the group this amazing seafood restaurant for lunch. Thank you again Alodia! 😉
After lunch I had to give in and try some nutella & plantain crepes...oh my yum!
After lunch I had to give in and try some nutella & plantain crepes…oh my yum!

CIEE organized for everyone to see a flamenco show, it was awesome!! I actually took a walk around during intermission and actually ran into a new friend!!

A donkey!!! He was so sweet :)
A donkey!!! He was so sweet 🙂
After the show Paige, my friend Elif, myself, and our awesome program directors, Magda and Quynh went out for some gelato!! They are wonderful :)
After the show Paige, my friend Elif, myself, and our awesome program directors, Magda and Quynh went out for some gelato!! They are wonderful 🙂

Granada is home to the Alhambra, originally a small fortress that was later converted in the royal palace of the Sultan of Granada. Apparently this is the #1 visited attraction in Spain..and I definitely understand why. Quite possibly the coolest, most beautiful place I have ever been to. The architecture was absolutely surreal! And the gardens! They were in the shape of a small labyrinth, which is kind of funny because I had ideas to make a labyrinth in my current studio project..which made the Alhambra even that much cooler. Haha 😛

Taking a moment to take in the beautiful view of Granada from the Alhambra
Taking a moment to take in the beautiful view of Granada from the Alhambra
Just look at that detail...
Just look at that detail…
Look at it!!!
Look at it!!!
Such a beautiful palace..I definitely pictured what it would be like to live here while I was exploring
Such a beautiful palace..I definitely pictured what it would be like to live here while I was exploring
I would never be bored
One thing is for sure, I would never get bored
Really love how the exterior of the building mimics the mountain range
Really love how the exterior of the building mimics the mountain range
Adios Granada!
Adios Granada!

Granada was simply magical..I really loved it. Sad to say goodbye!!

But then again, you could definitely call Barcelona magical..

One of my favorite things about the Parc de la Ciutadella
One of my favorite things about the Parc de la Ciutadella

This weekend we had 3 days off of school and a lot of my friends traveled, but since I’m recovering from a cold and still have this disgusting burn on my leg..I decided to stay home and explore my beautiful city. It was wonderful!!

My housemate Paige, and my good friend/classmate, Miles, and I decided to go check out the Picasso museum that is just around the corner from my apartment. It was quite wonderful!

This is exhibit opened just one day before we arrived! Good timing :)
This is exhibit opened just one day before we arrived! Good timing 🙂
Inside the museum, I love the character of an older building
Inside the museum, I love the character of an older building

Picasso Picasso

What makes it so great is that you can see Picasso grow as an artist..they have thousands of his original works from his very first sketches right out of school to some of his most famous works like La Vie. It shows how he analyzed every move he made and his various styles of artistry..Picasso is amazing.

One of my favorite of his works..
One of my favorite of his works..
Don't tell anyone I took photos!
Don’t tell anyone I took photos!

Picasso is native to Catalonia and is from Barcelona, so this museum was unlike any other Picasso museum I have been to. If you are ever in Barcelona, I highly recommend visiting!

I decided to go with a few friends to see Antoni Gaudí’s Parc Güell for the first time. It was so nice to get some fresh air and see the beautiful trencadís in action.

IMG_1948 IMG_1794 IMG_1927 IMG_1792

Gaudí, like Picasso, is also local to Barcelona. I always love walking through the city and seeing his famous works. It was really cool to casually visit one of the most famous parts of Barcelona.

IMG_1896 IMG_1792

There really is no way to describe the feeling when you’re just hanging out viewing a city you’ve been dreaming of visiting your whole life…it’s surreal. It’s been about a month and a half and it still gets me..I can’t believe I have this opportunity.

Kodak moment overlooking Barcelona
Kodak moment overlooking Barcelona

Maybe that is what is making me slightly overwhelmed..I’ve been looking forward to this for so long and I’m finally here. It’s like I don’t know what to do with myself!! Well, of course I do, but still. It’s an interesting feeling, but there comes a time when I’m not a tourist anymore and I have to remind myself that this isn’t all fun and games. I’m here for a reason, this is business. I need to focus on school and make the most out of this opportunity. Anyone can visit this city and take cool photos at some of the biggest tourist attractions in the world..but I’m here for something more.

flower

I’m here to grow and learn and broaden my horizons..time to get over the fact that I live here. Because I do..but not for long. So what am I going to get out of this experience? Well I can’t tell the future but I can promise you one thing, I’m going to make the most of this opportunity and by the end of it, Barcelona won’t be the same without me. I can truly feel it in the earth beneath my feet that I am meant to be here.

Leave a Reply

