I Live in Paradise

Growing up in south Florida I thought I knew what paradise was. I’ve been on several cruises around the Caribbean and I’ve even been to Hawaii, but I don’t think I ever fully experienced Paradise until I arrived in Dubrovnik.

10055653314_d65d15a869_oPicture blue skies with mountains to the east and the Adriatic Sea to the west and beautiful terracotta roofs all in between.

9932511716_034a3784d6_oI am living in a 3 story flat right outside the city in a little town called Lapad. I live in the bottom flat, the owners live in the middle, and the top flat was turned into a hostel. It is perfect, especially for right now when I don’t know anyone. I am able to go up to the hostel whenever I want and meet all of the traveling guests. One night there was an entire turnover of the hostel guests and it couldn’t have been a more perfect group. There were 3 Canadians, 3 Germans, 2 Scots, 1 Australian, and 1 American. Everyone was either traveling alone or with 1 friend. They proved to me that traveling alone can and will be amazing.

9932523266_6b06368d7d_oI met a girl from Albania who is also studying at DIU with me so we were able to go to orientation together. I didn’t realize that the university is legitimately inside the Old City walls over looking the sea. Our school is located near the Ploce gate which is one of the main gates to get into the city. More specifically, our school resides within a monastery.

Living on the east coast my entire life I was never able to enjoy sunsets. Now I am able to watch the sun set every night over the beautiful ocean. I am going to try to take a picture of the sunset every night and hopefully put together a collage at the end of my journey.

IMG_2507IMG_2481At orientation on September 16th they decided to announce that classes don’t start until October 1st. I’m not going to lie, I was really excited for classes to start and to meet everyone, but a 2 week holiday means 2 weeks of traveling!

My travel plans are:Dubrovnik>Barcelona>Madrid>Valencia>Marseille

Leave a Reply

