Excuse My French

Now that I finally found an apartment, I feel like I finally arrived in France. And with only a three-minute walk to the beach, I’d say I chose a pretty good location. Juan Les Pins is a beautiful city.

A few friends and I had the pleasure of visiting the island of Sainte-Marguerite and even though we were only there for a few hours, we were able to see and explore a lot of the island. Sainte-Marguerite is about a 25-minute ferry ride from Juan Les Pins and is widely know because it served as a prison for the famous Man in the Iron Mask from 1687 to 1698. While on the island, we visited the jail cell, which was very large in my opinion, went through the lush forest of the island, and even went swimming. This was probably the bluest water I have ever seen so I had to go in.

IMG_1837 IMG_1841 IMG_1852There was a museum on the island as well. It showcased a lot of old pottery items, artifacts and paintings that have been recovered from shipwrecks near the island. I was amazed by all of the things in the museum, I felt like I couldn’t leave empty handed. I bought a postcard.

My friends and I were joking around saying that we should miss the 6 p.m. ferry, the last ferry back to Juan Les Pins, and go camping in the forest on the island but we decided not too. With only a few crackers and little to no protective clothing on our backs, we rushed back to catch the last ferry.

It was a good day to say the least.

IMG_1844 IMG_1907The weather here in France is very similar to the weather in Florida. However, it does get a little cold late in the night and early in the mornings. For the most part it’s not freezing yet. I felt a little cold last Saturday because I traveled 6,000 ft. above sea level to the Alps. Two trains and two and a half hours later, a few friends and I finally arrive in a city called Tende.

There was a tour guide on the train explaining the different sites as we spiraled up the mountains, but I was way too tired to be going back and forth and jumping over people to barely get a good glimpse. Furthermore, every picture I took had my reflection in it so I gave up taking pictures on the train and slept the rest of the way. With just over 2,000 inhabitants, Tende has its own kindergarten, elementary school, a library, two museums and a few bakeries and restaurants.

After the train ride, we started hiking up the Alps until we got to our meeting place. Staring, at the mountains, almost in daze, I was amazed at what my eyes beheld.

IMG_1935Stunning.

On our hike down the Alps, we stopped at a little river. It was really shallow with big rocks protruding out of the water. A few friends took off their shoes and socks and painstakingly went in the ice-cold water. I’m not exaggerating when I say ice cold either. With hopes of jumping onto one of the dry-looking rocks above water and posing for a picture, I gave my camera to my friend. Bad idea. The rock was actually very, very slippery and I slipped and fell into the shallow, toe-numbing river. With water seeping out of my Free-run’s with every step, we continued down the mountain.

IMG_1945 IMG_1968 IMG_1962It was a great experience going up to the Alps. I’d like to come back later in the semester when there is snow so I can ski and snowboard down the mountains.

karlyle.com

Leave a Reply

