The rest of Rome

In addition to Vatican City and The Roman Forum, we were guided through Rome’s most famous landmarks.

  1. The Colosseum

Spell it Colosseum. Spell it Coliseum. Call it Colossal after it’s ancient name. Call it whatever you want, so long as you can appreciate its greatness. There’s a reason it’s on every living being’s bucket list, in every movie, on every postcard, in every book of “Places To See Before You Die”, and on every unofficial “7 wonders of the world” compilation. If anything surpassed my expectations, it would be this astonishing building. I touched every wall I could and tried to take as many pictures from as many different angles as possible in my feeble attempt to capture how amazing it was. Unfortunately, the photos don’t seem to do it justice, but they can sure give you a general idea.

  1. Trevi Fountain

At the Trevi Fountain, it is good luck (and tradition) to toss a coin with your right hand over your left shoulder and wish for love and a return to Italy. I wasn’t aware of how large, popular, or exquisite this fountain was until I saw it in person; and frankly, I’m not sure I had ever even heard of it. But, my awe was evident, seeing as I walked several miles to see it four different times during our 3-day excursion. This might have been one of my favorite surprises; everyone should see its extravagance in person.

 

3. Some other cool places

Capitol Hill, Roman style.

The Pantheon!

Piazza near the Spanish Steps

The Spanish Steps

And the Italian-American clan, taking in all of the history.

Leave a Reply

