My Own Private Thailand

So I arrived in Thailand and instantly it is a different world from China. I think it is the Miami of the East. The people are more causal and the food is AMAZING (and cheap). Not to mention in the week that I have been here I have some of the most beautiful sights I have ever seen. For many people in the US they don’t know much about Thailand or what it has to offer know that it is absolutely breathtaking. All I kept thinking when I say the ruins in Ayutthaya was why isn’t this more famous?! Why isn’t this place on peoples’ bucket-list?! But at the same time the less people the better, I got a chance to climb ruins and walk around with no one else around. It was like this place was mine and I didn’t have to share it with a million other tourist. For me tourist always ruin the experience of a place, you want to go and see something you’ve been imagining for years and you can’t even enjoy because flocks of tourist also had the same idea. But not Thailand, everything here has been toned down on the tourist volume. I could enjoy the massive reclining Buddha and have it to myself. The architecture in Thailand varies from modern Bangkok skyscrapers to intricate Buddhist temples. I love that Thailand is so eclectic yet it makes sense. Here are some photos from my day throughout the famous Wat Pho temple. I was lucky enough to go on a day where school kids were dressed up for a parade around the temple, the sight was magnificent!

Ayutthaya.

Ayutthaya is the old capital of Thailand.  It has ruins, elephants, buddhas anything you can imagine when you think of Thailand.

School-wise it’s been fantastic so far. Chulalongkorn University is very organized with its international exchange students. They assign you Thai “buddies” (current students) that take you around the school, help you buy your uniform and give you everything you need to know to survive. My buddy Poon is great, we went shopping, had some awesome food and gave me an awesome tour of the university insider knowledge included. So far the classes don’t seem too difficult and I have an awesome Tuesday-Wednesday schedule. Hello 5 day weekends! I still can’t believe I managed that. It’s only been 3 days of school but all the international kids are so friendly I’m never alone or out of place. The uniforms are actually quite cute and it makes getting ready in the morning that much faster. Overall Thailand had been a very easy transition, most of the people speak a fair amount of English and there are many tourist and foreigners working in Bangkok. So far I love it and I can’t wait to see what else it has to offer.

4 thoughts on “My Own Private Thailand

  1. Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme of this website. It’s simple,
    yet effective. A lot of times it’s difficult to get that “perfect balance” between user friendliness and visual appeal. I must say that you’ve done a excellent job with this.
    Also, the blog loads extremely quick for me on Opera.
    Excellent Blog!

  2. Can I simply just say what a comfort to find someone who truly knows
    what they are talking about over the internet. You actually realize
    how to bring an issue to light and make it important.
    A lot more people should check this out and understand
    this side of the story. I was surprised that you are not more popular because you definitely possess the
    gift.

  3. My spouse and I absolutely love your blog and find many of your post’s to be exactly I’m
    looking for. Do you offer guest writers to write content in your case?
    I wouldn’t mind publishing a post or elaborating on most of the subjects you write in relation to here. Again, awesome website!

Leave a Reply

