Arrivederci, Roma

This weekend I begin my journey back home. Today I left for Frankfurt, Germany to visit relatives who are then taking me to Dusseldorf on Saturday night for my flight back home on Sunday morning. It’s a miracle everyone, my suitcase weighed under 50 lbs!!!! It was 49.38 lbs to be exact. However, I’m pretty sure that’s what my carry-on weighs which is killing my back to carry. It is very bittersweet because I already miss Italy so much. I made so many wonderful new friends and had an experience of a lifetime. Seriously, everyone needs to study abroad. It is without a doubt one of the best things you can do. All the time and money put into it is so well worth it. You won’t be disappointed, I promise.

Right now I’m sitting in the Vienna airport waiting for my flight to Frankfurt (yayy for free wifi.) As soon as I step off the plane to my right I see a Starbucks and realize things are already changing (Italy has zero Starbucks, but why should they?) I can’t wait to see my family on Sunday, especially my bff sister. You might be wondering what the first thing I have in mind to eat. The answer is easy: CHIPOTLE. I can’t wait. I’m like the biggest number one nerd fan of Friends so I really can’t wait to watch that 24/7 when I get back. And in 6 days I turn 21!!! So in spite of being sad about leaving Italy I do have some things to look forward to, this does not include school :).

Once I’m back in the states I’ll start thinking of more things I miss about Italy but here are just a few now that I miss: I miss attempting to speak Italian, the cappuccino & espresso, how insanely beautiful it is there, speaking of beauty-how beautiful the boyyyys are too, I already miss all my new friends (who are the coolest people ever), finding somewhere new & delicious to eat, the food of course, GELATO, and trust me I’ll think of more.

Everyone should have to opportunity to travel sometime during their lives, it’s something that changes you. Unfortunately for us who live in America we don’t find ourselves with the luxury most Europeans have in traveling. Germans are some of the most well-traveled people in the world, I met someone from Australia that said they can never get the right population census because everyone always goes on vacation, and Italians close down their businesses to go on vacation for like weeks-Rome dies in August because everyone goes on vacation. It just makes me realize how much more I have to see and how fortunate I am to be able to travel to the places I do, that I thank my dad for. I’ve been so busy that I haven’t had the chance to blog about my weekend trips to Prague and Ischia but I promise I will because they are so well worth talking about.

For now I just wanted to give a giant thanks to everyone from UFIC for giving us students the opportunity to partake in fantastic programs, the 4 phenomenal UF faculty members who went on this trip, all of my new friends for making this experience what it was, and to my family who I am fortunate to have support me in all my travels & ambitions.

Ciao Trastevere & the fantastic view from my apartment

Ciao apartment

Ciao gelato- tiramisu & watermelon

Ciao beautiful nights in Roma

Ciao Roma! You will be missed, but I will come back soon!

Leave a Reply

