FILM REVIEW: Bend it Like Beckham

bend_it_like_beckham_2

The first time I saw Bend it like Beckham was because I adored Kiera Knightley and was making my way through her filmography during my Pirates phase. I’m also pretty sure it was brought to a “sports movie theme” sleepover party at my friend’s house. Theme movie nights were kind of our Saturday night thing…I was very popular in high school. I don’t think we made it past She’s the Man at that party, so I hadn’t revisited Bend it Like Beckham in about 5 years. I don’t know if it’s because I am still watching/only caring about The Office or if I only find Jonathon Rhys Meyers attractive in The Tudors, but I was not very into this movie. I mean it’s a nice story of an Indian girl experiencing the cultural rivals of her family tradition and modern UK. But it was made in 2002 and something happened with British films after 2003 so that the cinematography stopped looking like the film was from 1994. Also, Jules is kind of a horrible friend, but she might also be the perfect representation of a catty and selfish high school girl. And I can’t remember if that girl actually exists only in movies for in real life too. And I’m wondering if this film about female empowerment should have made Jules more empowering. Now I think I should stop analyzing a supporting character and move on. Why is it ok for these girls to go to Germany for a tournament with only the supervision of their incredibly young coach? Are these girls even legal yet? How old exactly is the coach? It also bothers me that Beckham doesn’t play in the UK anymore. Actually, I think in addition to all the previous bits I mentioned early, I’m just not that into soccer. Never have been. So while I adore She’s the Man for its humor, I adore Friday Night Lights equally for its dramatic scenes and its football scenes. Therefore, I’d recommend watching Bend it like Beckham if you can get past the low budget, poor character development, and feel-good soccer sport genre, and look more into the valiantly placed social issues, which brings me to my next point.

You may be wondering why I reviewed a film I wasn’t thrilled with. First, to jazz up these reviews. They can’t all be raving about Amy Adams and Nicolas Cage. Second, for my British Life and Business class we visited Brick Lane in London’s East End. While the Brick Lane tayyabsinhabitants are primarily Bangladeshi, a large number of British minorities (usually from somewhere in the Commonwealth) have shops and restaurants in this region. Notably, Tayyabs is an Indian restaurant most famous for its curry. On this field trip we got to explore the Brick Lane area and note all the different cultures represented in the shops and markets before having a delicious lunch at Tayyabs.

Tayyabs

They seriously sat us down and consistently gave us food for at least thirty minutes straight. Trying to taste everything and sometimes go back for seconds proved difficult by the time the fourth dish came out. Regardless of the uncomfortable feeling beginning to settle in my overly full stomach, I powered through it and luckily experienced zero repercussions later. The area around Brick Lane appears to have a strong culture that can either clash with, be embraced  by, or melt into the British culture of London. From my experience, they appear to be doing pretty well either way. Until next time,

Cheers xx

Lindsay

Note: I stole these pictures from my friend’s Facebook and Google images because I didn’t take any that day.

One thought on “FILM REVIEW: Bend it Like Beckham

  1. Pingback: Writing A – week 9, Thursday June 14th, 2012 | From Sheffner's Office シェフナ研究室のブログ

Leave a Reply

