Caput Mundi

I wanted to write a blog about my time in Italy before I wrote my final farewell blog, but now that I have been home for over a week I realized that I can’t do that. The small amount of time I’ve been back in America has turned Europe into a memory; and I have to look back on it as a great story. And now I have to put it down before I forget it.

When I got off the bus from the airport into Venice, it was pouring. I had my lovable pink-flowered suitcase that I purchased in Dublin because no others were available (I don’t want to talk about it) and my shoulder bag that is open on the top. Basically I needed an umbrella. Twenty euros later, I had a crappy one and a slice of pizza. Basically, Italy isn’t cheap. Venice is beautiful, but it got old fast. There isn’t a lot to see, and there’s no night life really. Also, I didn’t go for a gondola ride because it costs 100 euro. I would highly recommend the hostel A Venice Fish because the staff is excellent and there is free sangria nightly.

On my last day there, I went out to Murano and Burano Islands by ferry. Murano makes glass, and Burano makes lace. I got the feeling that many Italian cities had a craft specialty as a main product.

The islands were beautiful and I enjoyed the day with my new friend from Myanmar. It was a wonderful experience.

I gained more from Rome than I expected. Rome was the perfect place to try out the education I had received in America. After learning Latin and taking the classes Baroque in Rome & Etruscan and Roman Art and Architecture, I came in with a solid foundation. I also had a great guidebook that was a gift from my internship that had options for tours throughout Rome, including Bernini’s Rome. Basically, I am an art history major, Bernini is my favorite artist, and I was holding a guidebook to the locations where his famous artwork that I have been studying were located. I was a kid in a candy store.

Going to Rome was important to me for another reason as well. On my first day, I dropped off my bags at my hostel and made a bee line for the Vatican. Although I told myself I wouldn’t, I teared up the minute I turned the corner into Bernini’s collonade. I waited in line for security, easedropping on some Germans in front of me telling of their first time there. I had an overwhelming feeling of happiness being in the courtyard of St. Peter’s, but it was nothing compared to the inside. Nothing could prepare me for how beautiful it was. The first thing I saw was Michelangelo’s Pieta on my right. I was speechless. I spent hours there criticizing the art and praying. By the time I left, I was happy that I came alone.

During my time in Rome, I saw everything I wanted to. The Coliseum, St. Peter’s, Chigi Chapel, Cornaro Chapel, Hadrian’s Tomb, The Pantheon, the Roman Forum and so much more. Everything from praying in the Vatican, to walking the thousands of year old streets, to crashing a wedding, to enjoying a glass of wine with my new friends in the garden of the Villa d’Medici was unforgettable. Rome will always have a special place in my heart, and in my education.

And now, I’ve been home for a week. I’ve actually been in Orlando with my boyfriend… so if you’ve been following my blog at all, you’ll be happy to know we’re reunited.

I’m still in recovery mode from travelling, but I’m happy to be home and I can’t wait to go back to my hometown this weekend.

So, this is it. I enjoyed writing this blog, and I can’t wait to look back on it when this has become more of a memory.

But for now auf wiedersehen, or, in English, until we meet again.

Leave a Reply

