A Bit under the Weather

Hi readers 🙂 It is now the ripe hour of 4am on a Monday morning.

You know how it is… the weekend just slips out from underneath your feet and before you know it, you have all these things to do and catch up on before the week starts.

Well, I’m not going to lie: this was a hard week for me. I don’t really know what offset it, but I just began feeling like I really wanted to go home. I started asking myself questions such as what I was doing here, why I wanted to be away from my family and friends for so long, why I wanted to spend so much money on this trip, why I wanted to deal with making all these travel plans alone, and so on. Honestly, I feel like just being overwhelmed, feeling a bit alone, and/or the slightest tones of feeling unwelcome can trigger that. What’s really hard about starting to feel homesick/overwhelmed is not having an easy outlet to express those feelings. It’s difficult to maybe talk to surrounding students because those feelings come in waves, hence not everybody is feeling that way at the same time.

The best advice I can give you about the times when you do start greatly longing for home, feeling alone, or feeling overwhelmed is to fight against it. Although you’re going to want to be alone, only talk to people from home, and indulge in feeling depressed, you should try to do the opposite. Take it from me: I’ve done both, and I guarantee that the the latter yields better results because it actually DOES something about the problem, which is it gets you more integrated in your current environment. Leave your room and go sit with the other students. Besides just not being physically isolated, being in an atmosphere of companionship and where you can have periodic interactions with others helps immensly.

The only other words of wisdom I can give is to give yourself a break in your day-to-day life. If you start feeling stressed, stop what you’re doing and try to relax for an hour: whether that consists of drinking tea, watching a show, or listening to music. After that break, remind yourself to take it one step at a time. It is extremely easy–too easy–to feel like you have to figure out and do everything all in a single moment. Instead, tackle each task in terms of deadline, importance, etc.

Aside from that, I really have had a lot of fun this week. One thing I thoroughly enjoyed was going to a tango dinner show. What a wonderfully delicious experience. The food was marvellous and abundant, and the dancers, singers, and band flawless. It was one experience which made me truly feel like I was in another country–and believe me, it is hard to get yourself to realize that reality. Also, this week we took a tour of the world renowned Teatro de Colon for a field trip, which was incredible. On top of that, my friends and I have been doing our own activities, such as hanging out in the park and drinking mate–and eventually succumbing to one of the many venders in Buenos Aires and buying some pastries there.

Photobucket

Another thing we did was was a political march that took place for el Día de la Memoria por la Verdad y la Justicia–a national holiday in honor of the desaparecidos. Furthermore, we got a chance to watch and bet on a horse race, as well as watch “Los Juegos del Hambre (aka The Hunger Games)” in theaters. To be fair, it wasn’t a real movie-in-South-America experience because the movie itself was in English–it just featured Spanish subtitles.

Photobucket

Alright, buenas noches everyone. Maybe I can snag a couple hours of sleep before I need to wake up!

Leave a Reply

